Battle of the Buffalos…ADDENDED

24 Oct

Scroll to bottom of page to see my added Buffalo Chicken Recipe.  YUM!   Buffalo Chicken overload? No such thing.

Today I bring you: Battle of the Buffalo Chicken Pastas.  This is timed pretty perfectly since here on the East coast fall has finally decided to arrive so these spicy dishes are sure to bring warmth to your kitchens and bellies.   As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, pregnancy has brought on a pretty strong desire to drench my food in anything buffalo or blue cheese, hence baby boy no. 2′s pre-birth nickname of “Buffy.”  I’m not mad at my soon to arrive son, Buffy, because he’s inspired me to seek out some pretty interesting buffalo chicken recipes but I do have to thank whoever created Omeprazole…saving grace, I tell ya!  Saving grace!

Anyways on to the battle.

A while back I was cooking pasta and flipped over the box to find an interesting recipe – SHOCKER- it was for a buffalo chicken pasta.  I cut it out and hung it on the fridge to remind me that it was a “must make!”  The recipe called for breaded chicken fingers which we no longer buy since it’s pretty hard to find organic frozen chicken fingers and if you do find them, they are for kids and come in a box the size of my fist for “just” $6.99 or something outrageous.  This was the first thing I changed, I ended up using shredded buffalo chicken that I put in the crock pot the night before I planned to make this dish.   So technically, I feel like I can kind of claim this recipe as my own…

So with out further a-do, here is the modified recipe,

Pregnancy Craver’s Buffalo Chicken Pasta
makes apprx 4 servings

Ingredients:

2 Boneless Chicken Breasts (marinaded and shredded via crock pot)
1 bottle of Medium Wing Time Buffalo Wing Sauce (or spiciness level of your liking)
16 oz of Penne Pasta
2 tbs of unsalted butter
1 cup of chopped celery
1/2 cup of chopped onions
1 tbs of chopped garlic
1 cup of half and half
1 cup of blue cheese crumbles

Directions:

1.  Prepare Chicken ahead of time via crockpot.  I put chicken breasts in crockpot with just enough marinade to cover (probably about 1/4 bottle). Cook on low for about 3 hours.  I would highly suggest not altering from this wing sauce…it’s pretty fab.  However, if you don’t want to prepare chicken ahead of time, I am sure you could just dice the chicken and saute in a frying pan with a little bit of oil.

2. Cook pasta according to directions and drain.

3.  In large skillet, melt butter over med-high heat.  Add celery, onions, and garlic; salt and pepper to taste.  Saute until celery is softened (about 5-7 minutes).

4.  Stir in half & half, blue cheese, and hot sauce.  Bring to boil; reduce heat and simmer 2-3 minutes. Stir in chicken.  Add pasta, toss to coat.  Continue simmering until heated through and sauce has thickened.

5. ENJOY!

I would definitely recommend sprinkling a little extra blue cheese crumbles on top of the pasta because blue cheese makes everything better.

Image

Buffalo Chicken Pasta

Buffalo Chicken Pasta numero dos was recommended by a co-worker and it’s also how I came across the How Sweet It Is recipe site that many of my new recipes are coming from.  This pasta was more of a Velveta type mac n cheese.  I had a hard time locating the shells via online grocery ordering so I settled with fusilli pasta.  I also ran out of my favorite Wing Time sauce (sigh) so this pasta was made with regular run of the mill Tabasco sauce.  I’m tempted to make it again with the correct shells and wing sauce to see if it makes a difference because I THINK I may like my above pasta better.

Image

Stovetop Buffalo Chicken Pasta and Cheese

Image

Stovetop Buffalo Chicken Pasta and Cheese and yes, that’s a TV tray…a gal can’t miss X-Factor.

While I was searching for the above Stovetop Buffalo Chicken Shells and Cheese recipe I ran across a recipe for a Baked Buffalo Chicken Pasta.  I’m pretty sure this will be on the menu for next week…I just can’t resist.  STAYED TUNED.  But in the meantime, how about you “battle the buffalos” and let me know what you think!

******************************************************************************************************

ADDENDUM:

Ok, So I tried the aforementioned Baked Buffalo Chicken Pasta.  And yup, it’s the best one yet.  Just make it.  You won’t regret it.  I would maybe suggest using the penne pasta instead of the shells (unless someone has a magic remedy on how to get them not to stick together).  Please try to use the Wing Time sauce, I’m telling you, it’s worth the $4.99.  Also – I think that sauteing the chicken instead of using my Pregnancy Craver’s Buffalo Chicken method of slow cooking the chicken works better.   When I saute, I dice the chicken raw, cook in a little olive oil and then once cooked I add some wing sauce into the pan allow it to bubble and then simmer for a few minutes.   It gives some extra flavoring!   These recipes are just proof that you can eat clean and organic while it’s still completely tasty!  I don’t have buffalo chicken pasta on the meal plan for this week and it’s pretty disappointing, like I legitimately am upset with myself for not having this…Poor Matt, buffalo chicken every week until God knows when!

Baked Buffalo Chicken Prep

Baked Buffalo Chicken Prep

Pre cooked Buffalo Chicken and Cook Baked Buffalo Chicken Pasta.  YUMMY!!

Pre cooked Buffalo Chicken and Cook Baked Buffalo Chicken Pasta. YUMMY!!

The end.

 

If you would like to see the nutritional content of the Baked Buffalo Pasta, here is an estimate (calculated via myfitnesspal.com).  This is based on 8 servings since there are 8 cups of pasta.  Also – the blue cheese is optional so that could help eliminate calories, too.  But in reality, when eating pasta, I don’t think the expectation should ever be, “Hmm…I wonder how low cal this is.”  It’s just not possible.

Nutritional Content for Baked Buffalo Chicken Pasta

Nutritional Content for Baked Buffalo Chicken Pasta

2 Responses to “Battle of the Buffalos…ADDENDED”

  1. VA Cog October 30, 2013 at 1:39 PM #

    I’m waiting for the invention of a food printer where I just dump the ingredients into different containers and my stovetop buffalo mac just prints out with the flick of a switch. Or are switches passe? Ok, how about I activate it from my android app while I’m leaving work so that my dinner is ready by the time I get home. I really hope this will happen in our lifetime…

    • Kellie Ryan November 6, 2013 at 2:43 PM #

      Let me know how that works out for you and if it does work…contact me immediately.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 935 other followers

