Carbo loading…

I’m about 1 week away from the big arrival of baby #2…Mama needs her endurance so she might as well carbo load, right?  Well, actually, I just really like potatoes, bread and pasta – these recipes have nothing to do with ensuring I am able to successfully have a child (though I do wish myself lots of success in that area).  All three of these recipes come from my favorite recipe site: How Sweet It Is.  This chick makes some super inventive recipes and does a great job of incorporating veggies and other healthy food items in her recipes.  Recently she posted a 20 week light eating recipe plan which included various vegetarian options which I totally dug and took inspiration from.   Hence, vegetarian week at the Ryan household (and post baby probably many more weeks like this to come).

The first recipe was a Pan Toasted Brown Butter Gnocchi with Sweet Corn and Scallions.  I made a few variations to this recipe:  1) Sweet Corn cobs aren’t really in season anymore so I went with frozen sweet corn  2)  I didn’t want poor Matt to have to grill in 9 degree weather so I sauteed the corn and scallions  3) I added asparagus and organic cherry tomatoes (My son really digs cherry tomatoes so I was hoping it would give him extra leverage to gobble this dish up).  4) A BIG mistake, I added the gnocchi to the pan of sauteed veggies rather than cooking it on it’s own.  I should have know better since I know that gnocchi requires space to cook.  It’s even more disappointing because I got pre-cooked gnocchi and it would have just taken 3 minutes to boil.  Next time around (and if you make this dish)  I recommend boiling the gnocchi (or pan frying) separately and then tossing in with the veggies which is actually what the recipe suggests in the first place.  But aside from my gnocchi looking off and deformed (as you can see in the below picture), the recipe itself and alterations created a wonderfully delicious dish.

Pan Toasted Brown Butter Gnocchi with Grilled Corn + Scallions + Cherry Tomatoes

Pan Toasted Brown Butter Gnocchi with Grilled Corn + Scallions + Asparagus + Cherry Tomatoes

My son, Braedan, approved.

My son, Braedan, approved.

I’ve been super tired lately…you know chasing around a toddler and being 38 weeks pregnant  is so not ideal.  BUT I wanted to make my life easier for the following night so I went ahead and prepped our Roasted Red Pepper Quinoa White Bean burger patties.  This prep was a breeze, in fact, the whole recipe was relatively easy.  Normally I make my own roasted red peppers but I wasn’t in the mood for the hassle so I ended up just buying a jar of organic roasted reds to make my life even easier…I’m not ashamed to admit that I frequent the Staples “Easy” button.  Once the patties were prepped, I just rolled them into balls, stashed them in the fridge and they were ready to be cooked the next night.  It took a total of 5-10 minutes tops to cook dinner the following night, especially since the side was just a dish of Sweet Potato and Carrot chips.   You can alter the patties to be whatever size you want, I made 2 larger patties for my husband and myself and then made 4 mini patties to freeze and keep as an easy go to lunch for my son Braedan.

Roasted red pepper quinoa + white bean burgers

Roasted red pepper quinoa + white bean burgers

Finally, this Caramelized Shallot, Spinach and Goat Cheese Garlic Butter Pasta may be one of my favorite pasta recipes to date and it’s an under 30 minute dish!  It was super easy and seriously delicious.  We had some leftover cherry tomatoes from earlier in the week so I used the rest of those in the pasta which added a little extra to the dish.  I added the tomatoes during the same time that the recipe called to wilt the spinach.  Other than that, no alterations were made and nor did I need to make them.  I definitely went back for seconds and I’m sure you will, too.  I bet my son will be happy at day care during lunch time today when he sees leftovers and I will be happy to see that there are no red pasta sauce stains on his shirt tonight when I pick him up…viva la butter/white sauces!

Caramelized Shallot, Spinach, Cherry Tomato and Goat Cheese Garlic Butter Pasta

Caramelized Shallot, Spinach, Cherry Tomato and Goat Cheese Garlic Butter Pasta

In addition to these awesome recipes, here is a post on 20 Ways to Build a Whole Food Kitchen on a Budget.  Eating organic/GMO free can be tough but it’s possible!  But also – don’t guilt yourself over certain items, I LOVE my Cajun fries from our local pizza joint Right off Main and I’m pretty positive they aren’t organic but I eat them and move on!

Thanks for reading! 

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: And…I’m…Back. | eat smart

Leave a Reply

