“Your best meal yet!”

Well, ladies and gents, I did it!  I finally made a meal that impressed Matt.  As he said, “this is your best meal yet!”  It was a large casserole and we demolished the whole thing!  Matt has been quite supportive of my cooking attempts but when he makes comments like that, I get an extra sense of gratification.  Last night I made a Layered Eggplant, Zucchini and Tomato Casserole, well actually, I prepped the casserole on Monday night so all I needed to do was put it in the oven for 25 minutes last night.

What I’ve learned, I totally appreciate prepping meals at the beginning of the week once Braedan is in bed (after 7pm).  With Brae becoming more and more active – we don’t have much time to muddle around the kitchen making gourmet meals.  We’ve come to the realization that Brae can entertain himself in his highchair for long increments of time, as long as we are NOT trying to eat.  As soon as we sit down to eat, though – he instantly thinks, “Nah! They don’t need food!”  But its OK because he’s the cutest baby ever and can get away with it.

Image

Layered Eggplant, Zucchini, Tomato Casserole

 

Also, on Monday – I made Honeyed Apple Slaw.  I had a major issue getting the cabbage cut thinly so Matt, in his genuineness, suggested I toss it in the food processor.  What do you know! It worked and looked like coleslaw you’d by at a market, not to mention delicious and healthier! I forgot to take a picture of it post food processor so this is what it looked like before Matt’s suggestion.  Also, the recipe calls for “mustard”  I used a spicy mustard which I think added a nice sweet and savory compound to it! Next time I go to a BBQ I am bring this!  It’s so easy, refreshing and different from the generic “Oh I’ll bring coleslaw.”

Image

Apple Slaw

 

Finally, I LOVE CHEEZITS.  No really, I am positive that if I were on a deserted island I could survive off of water and Cheezits alone.  BUT, I thought maybe I would attempt to make homemade Cheezits which could either be life changing or tragic.  I am thinking I reached a middle ground, they weren’t life altering while also not tragic.  I used this recipe but I didn’t have the salt-free herb they suggested so I very stupidly replaced it with real salt – ummm, saltiest food I have ever tasted!  Luckily I only use 1/4 of the batter so I made the recipe again but only half of it and omitted the salt.  The batter seemed to taste better but I haven’t baked them again, yet (the new batter is currently in the freezer).  Once that’s finished, I plan on trying this Cheezit recipe since it has more common items (at least in my house).

Image

Cheddar Crackers

 

Thanks for reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

