Wake up feeling good and feeling light…

The past week or so I have depended more on quick and easy dinners or take out and haven’t tried too many new recipes.  But here are a few dishes from my kitchen!

My professor was kind enough to order my class dinner to celebrate our last class and being the uber “domesticated” woman I am, I instantly said, “Oooo I will make cookies!”  In an effort to impress my fellow classmates I tried a new recipe and it was most definitely a success!  I made Fluffy, Soft and Chew Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I tried to use all organic/natural ingredients but I also don’t want to drive myself crazy or cause my husband’s demise from seeing the escalating grocery bill!  So I settled on a few non-organic items, one being the chocolate chips.  I replaced regular chips for chocolate chunks – trust me, it was a good decision!  The class enjoyed them and so did Matt and I (I may have ate over 6 cookies in a 24 hour period, no big deal).

Image

Chocolate Chip (Chunk) Cookies

 

Next, I made something for my little cray cray Brae Brae!! Mini spinach souffles.  Let me tell ya, he demolished them.  The recipe is from Wholesomebaby.com, if you click on the link just scroll down to the very bottom.  I used 4 egg yolks and the ricotta cheese method.  I also put them in a mini muffin tin so they would be individual sizes and when they were done, I separated them into 3’s and froze all but 1 serving.

Image

Spinach mixture

Image

Spinach souffles in mini muffin tins

Image

And finally, spinach souffles going into a very happy Braedan’s belly! He approves!

 

Next, I saw a picture on Facebook about zucchini boats.  Basically, you cut zucchini in half, drizzle olive oil on them, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and garlic (or you could mince fresh garlic), and then top with tomato slices and cheese. I used an Italian combo cheese and then topped them with dried basil herb seasoning but fresh basil would be even better!  Toss them in the oven at 375 and cook for 20-30 minutes.  Delicious.  Matt and I had these bad boys as an appetizer while his eggplant parm was cooking.  BTW – Matt makes the best eggplant parm EVER, I ate my serving too fast so no picture evidence to post.

Image

Zucchini logs. Excuse the bite, Matt had to try one right away.

 

Finally, those of you who know me, know that I have an obsession with Mexican food – burritos to be more specific.  The other day I went to my favorite cart on Penn’s campus, Mexi Philly and ordered my first meatless burrito from them.  Mexi Philly offers a couple vegetarian friendly choices but I opted for the sweet potato burrito which also happens to be my friend Helen’s favorite (Helen, if you read this, I miss you).  Just as expected, the burrito was phenomonal which got me thinking – I CAN TOTALLY MAKE THESE AT HOME.  So last night (only 1 day after eating Mexi Philly) I took a dive at it.  These turned out awesome but Matt and I both agree they could have been better if we cooked them in the oven and put some sort of Ancho Chile sauce with cheese smothered on top, Baja Fresh calls this “Enchilada Style”.  Next time I may also just saute the potatoes instead of mashing them to give the burrito more texture.  But Matt still woke up this morning saying, “I really liked your dinner last night.  Whenever I just eat vegetables for dinner, I always wake up feeling good and feeling light.”  Hmm..Matt…maybe I’m onto something (ha).  I had a lot of ingredients left over so I ended up rolling 4 burritos with the couscous, cheese, beans, and sweet potatoes and freezing them.  This will be a great, “grab and go” option for busy work day mornings!

Here is my very first personal recipe on this blog:

Ingredients: 

2 large sweet potatoes

1 can of organic Black Beans

1/2 red pepper

1/2 yellow pepper

1/2 onion

1 cup of couscous

2 tbsp of butter

Flour tortillas (I got mine from Trader Joes)

1/2 avocado diced

1 tomato diced

1 cup of shredded cheese (I used cheddar)

Spices:   Chili powder, Garlic, Paprika, Salt and Pepper

**Try to use organic items when available

Directions:

1) Wash, Peel, and cut sweet potatoes and boil until soft (you can leave the skin on if you chose, I peeled them so when I mashed them, they would be Braedan friendly)

2) In a large frying pan saute onions and peppers with 1 tbsp of butter adding a few shakes of salt and pepper

3) Add beans (with liquid) to peppers and onions and bring to a boil.

4) Add a couple dashes of chili powder, paprika, and garlic to bean/pepper combo then simmer simmer and don’t forget to stir occasionally.

5) While simmering, cook couscous according to directions.  If you don’t like or have couscous, you could also just use a rice of your choice.  My couscous, I cooked in the microwave and it only took 3.5 minutes (this goes in the burrito so plain brown rice would be a good alternative).

6) In food processor, add sweet potatoes, 1 tbsp of butter and process until smooth or desired consistency.  I also added chili powder to potatoes.   You could also just mash the potatoes with a good ole fashioned masher!

7) Assemble your burrito!!  I put the sweet potatoes down first, followed by beans, cheese (so it melts), couscous, tomatoes and then avocado.

Some other good toppings would be: pico de gallo, sour cream, lettuce, onions, etc.

For your convenience, here is an image of how to fold a burrito (it MUST be done correctly).

Image

My finished product (pre-rolling).

Thanks for reading!

 

2 thoughts on “Wake up feeling good and feeling light…

Leave a Reply

