And…I’m…Back.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, I suppose having 2 kids under the age of 2 can keep you quite busy BUT have no fear, the blog is resurrected.  I know, I know…you were seriously concerned! My goal for cooking remains to be quick and easy but using higher quality ingredients.  Given now that our day care cost has doubled, it’s a little tougher to remain in the budget while eating organic so we pick our battles and shop a lot in the “specials” section when ordering online.

The first recipe I’ve made recently was from How Sweet Eat’s site (yet again), Crispy Buffalo Style Quinoa Sliders with Sweet Corn and Scallions.  These bad boys were mighty tasty, Matt and I omitted the buns and made the patties a little bigger.  Admittedly, I accidentally added the cheddar cheese into the “batter” when it was only supposed to be used on top so Matt now refers to these as the “Buffalo Cheese Sliders.”  Luckily, they still worked out, I had to add some extra flour to get them to stick a little better.   We ate these too quick to freeze but they would be another great “go-to” freezer item.  Again, I’m going to insist that anytime you use buffalo sauce, that you buy the Wing Time sauce.  Just do it.

Crispy Buffalo Style Quinoa Sliders

Crispy Buffalo Style Quinoa Sliders

 

Next up, mini BBQ Cheddar Meatloaves.  I’m always trying to find a good meatloaf recipe because it’s such a quick entree to put together but the downfall is how long it can take to cook.  Solution?  Put them in a cup cake tin.  These bad boys were ready with in 25 minutes (including a 10 minute prep time).  They did NOT disappoint, I’m pretty sure this will be my go-to meatloaf recipe and method.

Mini BBQ Cheddar Meatloaves

Mini BBQ Cheddar Meatloaves

 

I didn’t take a finished product picture but I found this recipe for healthy buffalo chicken strips and had to try them.  Honestly, they were pretty good.  I didn’t have some of the ingredients so I substituted the almond meal for wheat flour and the quinoa flakes for panko bread crumbs.  I was surprised about how well they stuck together.  The only disappointment was that I didn’t have my favorite Wing Time buffalo sauce so I settled for regular Tabasco sauce (sorry, Matt – it’s all gone now) and we certainly could have used a dip for it since I didn’t buy supplies to make the dip she listed with the recipe.  But all and all, I would give this a go again!

Healthy Buffalo Chicken Tenders

Healthy Buffalo Chicken Tenders

 

Finally, one of my more recent favorite recipes, quinoa burritos.  First off, I used ground beef instead of ground turkey because as mentioned in the intro, I do a lot of shopping in the “specials” section and the ground beef was on special!  The prep was pretty easy but the “boiling” part took much longer than expected.  But once it boiled and was set to simmer, it cooked with in 10-15 minutes.  Also, I need to invest in some cutting gloves, my fingers, eyes, face etc were on fire from cutting the jalapeno. Regardless of how many times I washed my hands, I swear the sting stayed for 2 days!  The recipe calls for tortillas which we used for our first helping but Matt and I both agreed that it would be good with out the tortilla.  We aren’t a low carb household but we definitely don’t feel the need to have carb overload and with the quinoa, there is already plenty of bulk to go around.  If you are looking for vegetarian options, I’d suggest omitting the meat and adding in butternut squash or just using extra avocado!  Finally I’ve come to the realization that salt and pepper really do add to the taste of food.  So make sure you sprinkle some on for flavor.  Braedan totally dug this recipe…that…or he was just a fan of taking my food and moving it into his bowl while getting it all over the floor.

Ground Beef Quinoa Burritos

Ground Beef Quinoa Burritos

Braedan approves!

Braedan approves!

It made for a great post run meal!

It made for a great post run meal!

 

Finally, in my last post, I wrote about a Caramelized Shallot Pasta with Goat cheese.  I made it again and added in mild spicy Italian sausage.  It was delicious so if you have already made this dish, try it again with the sausage.  If you haven’t made this QUICK and EASY dish…what are you waiting for!?!

Leave a Reply

